With over 200 years of history, Owen County offers wonderful treasures in its historic sites and museums, as well as lots of places to embrace its distinctive landscape and natural habitats.

Owen County was established by an act of the Indiana Legislature, 1818-1819, but was being settled as early as 1816. Indiana became a state in 1816, and was settled from the bottom up by land-hungry, adamantly independent Scotch-Irish, German and English folk with Appalachian frontier roots, including veterans of the American Revolution and the War of 1812. Comrades of Kentuckian Abraham Owen, who dies in the Battle of Tippecanoe, named the county in his honor.

Owen County Government: 60 South Main Street, Spencer, Indiana 47460
Town of Spencer: Municipal Building 90 N. West St., Spencer Indiana 47460
Owen County Chamber of Commerce/Economic Development Corporation:
119 S. Main St., Spencer Indiana 47460 (812) 829-3245